https://terra.journal.fi/issue/feed Terra 2022-11-01T08:57:41+02:00 Maarit Sireni maarit.sireni@uef.fi Open Journal Systems <p><em>Terra</em> on Suomen johtava maantieteellinen aikakauskirja. <em>Terra</em> ilmestyy neljä kertaa vuodessa sekä painettuna lehtenä että elektronisena Open Access -julkaisuna, jonka koko sisältö on avoimesti luettavissa välittömästi julkaisemisen jälkeen. <em>Terrassa</em> julkaistaan suomen- ja ruotsinkielisiä alkuperäistutkimuksia esitteleviä artikkeleita, tutkimukseen perustuvia katsauksia sekä tieteellisiä esseetyyppisiä artikkeleita ja katsauksia, joiden julkaisemisesta päätetään nimettömän asiantuntija-arvioinnin jälkeen (kaksoissokko). Lisäksi julkaistaan opetusideoita ja -aineistoja, keskustelupuheenvuoroja, uutisia ja kirja-arvosteluja.<br /><br /><em>Terra</em> on indeksoitu Elsevierin ylläpitämässä Scopus-viittaustietokannassa. Lehti on arvioitu Julkaisufoorumin tasolle 2. </p> https://terra.journal.fi/article/view/122219 Maantieteen opetus tässä maailman ajassa 2022-10-10T15:50:47+03:00 Sirpa Tani sirpa.tani@helsinki.fi 2022-11-01T00:00:00+02:00 Copyright (c) 2022 Terra https://terra.journal.fi/article/view/122355 Uutisia ja tiedonantoja 2022-10-24T15:17:52+03:00 Oskar Rönnberg oskar.ronnberg@helsinki.fi 2022-11-01T00:00:00+02:00 Copyright (c) 2022 Terra https://terra.journal.fi/article/view/113497 "Selviääkö tästä mitenkään?" 2022-04-25T17:31:14+03:00 Hanna Lempinen hanna.lempinen@ulapland.fi Annukka Vainio annukka.vainio@helsinki.fi <p style="font-weight: 400;">The current fossil fuel reliant global energy system is in rapid transition towards low-carbon energy sources. In the Finnish context, a significant target for emission reduction policies has been the country’s carbon dioxide intensive peat energy sector. As a part of the path towards a climate neutral Finland by 2035, the government has set the aim to halve peat energy use by 2030 and, as a part of these transition policies, the principle of providing a just transition for those deriving their livelihood from peat harvesting has been embraced. However, the use of peat has been declining at a much more rapid pace than anticipated, also jeopardizing the just transition promised for those engaged in the peat industry. In this article, we take a focus on the experiences of those who are deriving their livelihood from peat harvesting and related activities with an interest on how they are experiencing the justness of Finland’s peat policies and the ongoing transition. The experiences of our 400 survey respondents reflect the grave societal, economic and human consequences of the multifaceted failures of Finland’s peat transition policies. The lessons learned from the Finnish peat transition can be utilized in planning and implementing more sustainable policies for other livelihoods facing similar transitions.</p> <p> </p> <p>peat; energy; climate; just transition; Finland</p> 2022-11-01T00:00:00+02:00 Copyright (c) 2022 Terra https://terra.journal.fi/article/view/115605 Koskien valjastamisesta patojen purkuun 2022-05-18T09:58:12+03:00 Pertti Rannikko pertti.rannikko@uef.fi <p style="font-weight: 400;">The latest phase of river restorations is the closure of small hydroelectric plants. The precedent of this stage in Finland is the Hiitolanjoki river, which is a transboundary river crossing the Finnish-Russian border before flowing to Lake Ladoga. This article focuses on the shift in the hydrosocial rhythm of the Hiitolanjoki river from industrial to post-industrial rhythm. In a waterbody with the industrial rhythm, dams regulate the flow and speed of water in line with the demand for electricity. Current dismantling of dams and restoring its original rhythm is a result of the persistent work of local actor-network which has been able to create a wide supporting network including actors from the Hiitolanjoki river to the European Union’s and the Finnish government’s water and fish stock policies. The case of Hiitolanjoki river shows that achieving results requires an active and committed local network of actors.</p> 2022-11-01T00:00:00+02:00 Copyright (c) 2022 Terra https://terra.journal.fi/article/view/113034 Surun paikka 2022-02-16T09:51:17+02:00 Ulla Tuunanen ulla.tuunanen@gmail.com Anna-Kaisa Kuusisto anna-kaisa.kuusisto@tuni.fi <p style="font-weight: 400;">In this article we study the process of grieving, places of grief, and their multiple meanings in parents’ lives after the loss of a child. Based on interviews with nine parents, we analyse the socio-spatial dimensions and practices of bereavement. Grief, mourning, and remembering are experienced in physical places and in the body, as well as through socio-spatial dialogue. According to our interviews, bereavement of a child continues to be a recurring experience throughout daily life. Our main conclusion is that grief is only partly tied to particular physical places (<em>location</em>). Moreover, grief travels in time, and it is always related to other lived places experienced through the body of the parent. Our analysis illustrates how the body becomes a place of grief, and it highlights the role of everyday dialogue in maintaining parents’ continuing bonds with their deceased child. The meaning of places changes with loss in parents’ everyday life, and dialogue allows for maintaining a promise of care related to close relationships.</p> 2022-11-01T00:00:00+02:00 Copyright (c) 2022 Terra https://terra.journal.fi/article/view/121619 Maantiede antaa mahdollisuuksia nuorten merkityksellisten ajattelutaitojen ja tietojen kehittymiselle 2022-09-07T10:35:27+03:00 Eerika Virranmäki eerika.virranmaki@oulu.fi Kirsi Valta-Hulkkonen kirsi.valta-hulkkonen@oph.fi Anne Pellikka anne.pellikka@oulu.fi 2022-11-01T00:00:00+02:00 Copyright (c) 2022 Terra https://terra.journal.fi/article/view/121872 Maantieteen kriittinen tila 2022-09-20T18:35:57+03:00 Kimmo Härmä kimmo.harma@tuni.fi 2022-11-01T00:00:00+02:00 Copyright (c) 2022 Terra https://terra.journal.fi/article/view/121685 Geomedia on keskeinen osa maantieteen opetusta, mutta miksi ja mitä se on? 2022-09-09T22:49:56+03:00 Petteri Muukkonen petteri.muukkonen@helsinki.fi Laura Hynynen laura.hynynen@helsinki.fi Lauri Jäntti lauri.t.jantti@helsinki.fi Panu Lammi panu.lammi@helsinki.fi 2022-11-01T00:00:00+02:00 Copyright (c) 2022 Terra https://terra.journal.fi/article/view/121566 Visuaaliset kuvastot maantieteelliseen ajatteluun virittäjinä 2022-09-05T13:24:30+03:00 Markus Hilander markus.hilander@helsinki.fi 2022-11-01T00:00:00+02:00 Copyright (c) 2022 Terra https://terra.journal.fi/article/view/121628 Quo vadis, geografin i gymnasiet? 2022-09-07T17:02:41+03:00 Christina Ruth christina.ruth@helsinki.fi 2022-11-01T00:00:00+02:00 Copyright (c) 2022 Terra